• The Gracey Law Firm

Driving with a Suspended License in Michigan

Driving with a suspended license poses heavy consequences. The process to reinstate your license can seem daunting and complicated, let alone the toll of not having a license takes on your personal and professional obligations. Read on to learn more about how to get back your license as well as the penalties of driving with a suspended license in Michigan.


How do I get back my license?

Depending on what caused your suspension of driver's license, there are different ways to reinstate your license. The first step is to get a copy of your driving record (you can obtain this from your local Secretary of State) and review what's on your driving record and the subsequent barriers you have to obtaining your license. Based on your driving record, there are different conditions you'll have to meet to reinstate your license. After the period of suspension for your license is over and you have met the conditions to reinstate your license, you can pay a reinstatement fee (varies from $125 to $185 in Michigan) to get back your license.



What is the penalty for driving with a suspended license in Michigan?

Driving with a suspended license carries heavy penalties. Especially in Michigan, the Driver Responsibility Law, mandates particularly harsh consequences.


Misdemeanor Offense

What qualifies as a misdemeanor offense?

1) If you are driving with a suspended license for the first or second time (offense) AND 2) while driving with a suspended license you do NOT cause serious injury or death, this qualifies as a misdemeanor offense.


For 1st time offenders, the penalties are as follows:

  • up to 93 days in jail

  • fines up to $500

  • one year probation

  • cancellation of registration plates

  • driver's responsibility fees up to $1,000

For 2nd time offenders, the penalties are as follows:

*Note: Keep in mind that a "2nd time offense" means that the offense happens 7 YEARS after the first.*

  • one year in jail

  • fines up to $1,000

  • cancellation of registration plates

  • two year's probation

  • driver's responsibility fees up to $1,000


Felony Offense

What qualifies as a felony offense?

1) If while driving with a suspended license you injure or kill someone OR 2) It is your third offense driving with a suspended license, this qualifies as a felony offense


Felony Offense penalties for causing serious injury:

  • up to five years in prison AND

  • a fine of up to $5,000 (minimum fine of $1,000)

Felony Offense for causing death:

  • up to fifteen years in prison AND

  • a fine of up to $10,000 (minimum $2,500)


THE BEST DEFENSE AGAINST A DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE CHARGE

The Gracey Law Firm offers the personalized, knowledgeable legal feedback based on experience you can rely on. We are not intimidated, we fight back for you!

Protecting your future, your driving rights, and avoiding steep fines is important.

We provide affordable legal services to those who are facing any type of driving violation, including driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Make sure to contact us for a knowledgeable and personalized legal experience. Contact us now for a free legal consultation!


For other helpful resources on this topic, check out:

2200 Beechmont Street, Keego Harbor, MI, 48320      

judith@thegraceylawfirm.com  |   1(248)-221-7726

© 2023 by The Gracey Law Firm

  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle